Regional Oversight Mechanism (ROM)

Determined to end the cycles of conflict and violence that had characterized Africa’s Great Lakes region, particularly the eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), 11 countries of the region, including Angola, Burundi, the Central African Republic, the Republic of Congo, the DRC, Rwanda, South Africa, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia signed, on 24 February 2013, the Peace, Security and Cooperation (PSC) Framework for the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the region. They were later joined by two other countries, Kenya and Sudan, which signed the peace deal on 31 January 2014. The Framework outlines commitments at the national, regional and international levels, to consolidate peace and security in eastern DRC and promote cooperation between the Governments of the region.

The PSC Framework provides for two Governance structures, namely the Regional Oversight Mechanism (ROM) and the Technical Support Committee (TSC). The African Union (AU) and the United Nations (UN) are the co-chairs for the PSC Framework governance mechanisms.  The Guarantors of the PSC Framework are the AU, UN, International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

The ROM is the main oversight body under the PSC Framework. It meets once a year at Head of State and Government level to review progress on the implementation of the national and regional commitments of the signatory countries. The first high-level meeting of the ROM took place at the AU Headquarters in Addis Ababa on 26 May 2013.

Peace, Security and Cooperation Framework agreement

Regional Oversight Mechanism meetings

Declarations - Summits of Great Lakes region Heads of State and Government

Outcome documents - Great Lakes region Ministerial meetings

Meetings of PSCF Guarantors

Other useful documents