

## **PRESS RELEASE**

PR40 - 14.10.2017

Heads of State and Government of signatory countries of the Peace, Security and Cooperation Framework for the DRC and the region to meet in Brazzaville, and review political and security developments in the region

**Nairobi, 14 October 2017** – The Heads of State and Government of the signatory countries of the Peace, Security and Cooperation (PSC) Framework for the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) and the region will hold the Eighth High-Level Meeting of the Regional Oversight Mechanism (ROM) in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo, on 19 October 2017. The Summit will be preceded by a meeting of Ministers of Foreign Affairs on 17 October.

The Heads of State and Government will review the political and security developments in the region since their last gathering in Luanda, Angola, on 26 October 2016, especially with regards to the implementation of the commitments undertaken under the PSC Framework. The Summit will discuss measures to address outstanding issues related to the neutralization of negative forces in eastern DRC, including the Allied Democratic Forces (ADF), the Democratic Forces for the Liberation of Rwanda (FDLR) and other armed groups, and to accelerate progress in the repatriation of foreign disarmed combatants in eastern DRC and neighbouring countries. The leaders will also review ongoing dialogue and political processes in the DRC, Burundi, South Sudan and the Central African Republic.

## Note to the reader:

The Peace, Security and Cooperation Framework was signed on 24 February 2013 and constitutes an important instrument to assist the region in achieving durable peace and development. The Regional Oversight Mechanism is the main oversight body under the Framework Agreement. It meets once a year at Head of State and Government level to review progress in the implementation of the national and regional commitments of the signatory countries, which are: Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan, Sudan, South Africa, and Zambia.

United Nations Office in Nairobi – P.O. Box 48246, Nairobi, KENYA For more information, please contact: